Oh Canada

I have just started a new collection almost by accident. Last week I stumbled across a bag of world stamps that I had forgotten to sort or file.

Having enthusiastically waded through the bag and sorted the stamps into neat(ish) alphabetical piles, I noticed one country seemed to dominate.

A pile of Canada stamps…sorted with enthusiasm!

Yes. Canada had the numerical advantage. There was no good adding these to one of my existing albums. They just wouldn’t fit. So I had to get a new book and create the brand new ‘Canada’ album. There were some real gems in the pile. Including five Victoria’s.

Queen Victoria Canadian stamp issued between 1898 and 1902

 

There was a healthy Elizabeth II collection, including one of the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh before her coronation  (as the Duke and Duchess of Edinburgh).

 

I was also drawn to the wonderful selection of nature and wildlife stamps. I have managed to get a few sets going and look forward to completing them soon.

I have really enjoyed putting this album together and it has certainly sparked my enthusiasm for collecting more Canadian stamps. I have ordered some George VI Canadian stamps and look forward to adding those. Perhaps the priority should be finishing those wildlife and nature sets. Great fun.

Leave a comment