King George VI

Let me begin with some of my favourite stamps. King George VI…

George VI
King George VI 1937-47 (SG 462-475) & King George VI Queen Elizabeth Coronation (SG 461)

I have always been a fan of the King George VI stamps. Perhaps more so than any other British stamps. The clarity of the stamps always impress me and the colour scheme from green to scarlet, plum and brown is simple and warm. The most striking for me is the 7d green (SG 471). Compared to the others, the brightness is evident.

wp-1472416194884.jpg
7d green (SG 471)

I have included the coronation stamp in this collection. Following the abdication of Edward VIII on 11 December 1936, the Post Office faced a race against time to get the King George VI coronation stamps ready. They had a deadline of just five months. Designs were submitted by Eric Gill and Edmund Dulac, with the king preferring the latter’s effort (although there were some alterations).

King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Coronation (SG 461)

Interestingly, Dulac also designed the set issued to commemorate the Coronation of Queen Elizabeth II but he died before their release.

 

Leave a comment